- Town Clerk
- Marriage License
In order for a wedding ceremony to be considered a legal marriage, one must apply for and be issued a marriage license prior to the ceremony. A marriage license is issued on the same day a couple applies (please see below for information on how to obtain a marriage license), but a marriage license is NOT proof of marriage.
Following your wedding ceremony, the officiant will complete the bottom portion of the marriage license indicating who they are, where and when the ceremony took place, and the witnesses will sign. New York State’s Domestic Relations Law Section 14 states that the entire marriage license should be returned to us within five (5) days of the wedding ceremony.
Once the entire completed license is returned to the Town Clerk’s Office, we will issue a Marriage Certificate. The Marriage Certificate is the legal document required to prove that you are legally married. The Marriage Certificate will be automatically mailed within five (5) business days after the completed license is returned by the marriage officiant. Couples who do not receive a Marriage Certificate within four (4) weeks of the wedding should contact the Town Clerk’s Office at (585)-742-5080.
How to Obtain a Marriage License?
It is not necessary to obtain a Marriage License in the municipality in which the applicants are being married and you do not need to be a resident of the Town of Victor in order to apply in our office. Marriage Licenses applied for in our office are valid for ceremonies held with New York State.
For more information on getting married in New York State, including who can perform a marriage ceremony, please visit the New York State Department of Health website.
Marriage Licenses are issued Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:30 AM and 4:00 PM on a walk-in basis. If the times are not convenient, please call our office so we can accommodate a time that works best.
Marriage License Validity/ Waiting Period
Marriage Licenses must be obtained at least 24 hours before the ceremony, and the license is valid for sixty (60) days following the 24 hour waiting period.
Required Documents and Fees
The following list will guide you on what each person will need to bring with them in order to obtain a license from the Victor Town Clerk’s Office. (Both applicants must be present in order to apply for a Marriage License).
Identity Related Documents: (ONE OF THE FOLLOWING)
- Driver’s License or Non-Driver’s I.D. Card
- Employee I.D.
- Immigration record
Age Related Documents: (ONE OF THE FOLLOWING)
- Birth Certificate with a Raised Seal
- Naturalization Record
Previous Marriage Information
If this is not the first marriage for either party, a time-stamped copy of the Divorce Decree or Death Certificate (with raised seal) for each previous marriage must be presented.
The fee is $40.00 and includes the issuance of one (1) Marriage Certificate. We accept cash, check, and credit cards. Please note that there is a service fee for credit card payments. This fee is charged by the payment processor not by the Town of Victor.
It is important for applicants to be prepared to indicate their choice of surname (last name) when applying for a Marriage License. For more information on surname options, please visit the New York State Department of Health’s website.
Information on Marriage Transcripts
If you originally obtained your Marriage License from the Town of Victor and need an additional transcript, the Town Clerk’s Office can provide a Certified Transcript of Marriage. A Certified Transcript of Marriage is an abstract from the marriage record issued with a Town Seal. A Certified Transcript of Marriage may be used as proof that a marriage occurred. A certified copy of marriage includes all the items of information occurring on the original record of marriage.
Marriage records are not public information, therefore they are only released to a party listed on the record or an individual authorized by one of the listed parties. You can request a Certified Transcript of Marriage at the Town Clerk’s Office as long as you have valid identification and are a party listed on the Marriage record. If you live out of town and cannot apply in person, you would need to complete the Application for Copy of Marriage Record.
Fee - Each Certified Transcript of Marriage is $10.00